Any higher level graphics?

Sep 1, 2009 at 3:50 PM
Edited Sep 1, 2009 at 6:01 PM

Hello,

Is there a way in singularity to render graphics that are "higher level" as lines and rectangles, like images or text? Of cause, you can render bitmaps (Besides, the keyboard cannot be detected by slideshow example), but is there a way to render *.png with transparancy or rendering text at a given screen position, like you do in GDI+ with drawText or drawImage? I'm not an expert in programming on in-development operating systems (I have not even seen I line of code from e.g. Linux kernel) so I don't know whether and with which efford it is possible doing so.

Regards, Farok

Sep 6, 2009 at 9:15 PM
Edited Sep 6, 2009 at 9:18 PM

Hello Farok,

Nothing is easy yet unfortunately but it is possible to write your own line drawing functions by drawing pixels at specific points in the direction to the next point.

I am working on a very simple GUI library using such a method.

I have not looked into getting a PNG with transparency rendered but I have used a bitmap with color (0, 255, 0) to be transparent. (transparency mask)

Would you be interested in working with me on an image / gui library?

Regards,

EDIT: And I have text working but its done much like it is done in oldschool games such as final fantasy where it is bitted from a texture. I.e it is not scalable and is really only decent displayed at its original size :)

Sep 9, 2009 at 10:41 AM

Since our short chat on MSN, I would like to add (for anyone else who is interested)

In the video device contract you can see all avaliable messages you can send

http://singularity.codeplex.com/sourcecontrol/changeset/view/17067?projectName=singularity#324166

SendFill, SendPlot etc...

Nov 6, 2009 at 11:20 PM

Perhaps a group of interested individuals can work on such a library.  Does anyone know how difficult it would be to port open-source C libraries such as OpenGL and OpenAL over to completely managed versions to run on Singularity?